Destiny's calling – it's time to answer! / / Sandy Walker, Freedom Coach

Interview with Sandy Walker

Book Review Buzz recently interviewed me about my new book, 30 Days to Freedom.

Here’s the interview:

Interview with Sandy Walker,Freedom Coach,
Author of 30 Days to Freedom: Daily Exercises to Set Your Heart Free and Freedom through Forgiveness: The Power of Forgiveness Can Change Your Life.

Website: http://www.destinysfreedom.com

Q.What excites you most about your book’s topic? Why did you choose it?

What excites me most is the idea that we CAN be free – free of the emotional baggage we’ve all been carrying around our entire lives. We get so used to it that sometimes we stop looking for more. I chose this topic to encourage people to look for MORE – more fulfillment in life, more love in relationships, more peace and purpose in their daily experience of life. I developed many of these exercises and published them in my first book, Freedom through Forgiveness, but then I realized that people needed a way to practice them a little bit each day. As a result, 30 Days to Freedom was developed.

Q. How long did the book take you from start to finish?

It took me about a year to write because I was working on other projects at the same time.

Q. What aspect of writing the book did you find particularly challenging?

Imagining all the different scenarios for the characters in my book was a little daunting. I’m not used to writing fiction. I chose to include short stories in almost every chapter as a learning tool. My goal was to evoke universal feelings so that the reader could find something in common with the characters in each vignette.

Q. What surprised you the most about the book writing process?

For the first time, I experienced writer’s block. I had to find a way to work around it – that was a new experience for me. I also am amazed when I go back and read what I wrote and I can’t remember writing it. I find lines that are funny that I’m sure I didn’t write, but no one else had access to my files so I must have written them! Since I worked on the book on and off for a year, I guess I forgot what I wrote. I wonder if other authors experience this “forgetfulness” and surprise.

Q. What do you hope your readers will gain from reading your book?

FREEDOM from what holds them back – whatever that is. It is different for every person, but since we are all human there are definitely some common threads – like insecurity, feeling like you don’t fit in, not sure of what direction to take in life, etc. I hope they will find HOPE to keep searching for the freedom they long for. We all long to be ourselves and free from what holds us back, don’t we? I hope readers are encouraged that someone believes they CAN be free.

Q. What projects are you currently working on?

I am working on a fiction book – I enjoyed writing the short stories in this book and it inspired me to start thinking of a larger story or maybe several short novelettes combined into one book. I want to give the reader a taste of what it is like to work with a Freedom Coach – someone who helps them find freedom from whatever holds them back from enjoying a deeply satisfying life.

Q. Is writing your sole career? If not, what else do you do?

I am an author, a public speaker and a life coach. I work with people one-on-one, helping them determine what obstacles are holding them back from pursuing their heart’s desire and how to overcome or remove those obstacles. I use tools and techniques that help people open themselves up to new possibilities – this allows them to step out and take action on their dreams. My clients often remark how amazingly simple the process is and yet how deeply rewarded they are for taking the time to work with a coach. I also offer workshops in the community and I am a frequent guest speaker in several college classes in Miami, FL where I live.

Q. Did you do any research for your books, or did you write from experience?

I wrote primarily from personal experience. I have been “researching” personal freedom ever since I realized I wasn’t free. That was over 20 years ago. Along the way I learned some things and most recently, a few years ago, I discovered some new techniques that really made a significant, lasting impact in my life and in those I worked with. I used to carry around photocopies of these techniques because after I did one with a new client, they always asked for a copy. It made sense to put them in a book so that others could benefit from the incredible freedom I was experiencing. I hope people will check out my books and find the encouragement they need to become their “best selves”. The world is waiting for them! We need their gifts and their creativity – without them we are suffering. Too often our “baggage” limits our ability to share our gifts with others. My goal is to help as many people as possible find the freedom to let their gifts and creativity out to benefit the world.

You can contacted Sandy Walker through her website at http://www.destinysfreedom.com

Comments on: "Interview with Sandy Walker" (2)

  1. John Dimitriou said:

    The interview emphsized the importance of the book.

  2. Hi Sandy,

    I enjoyed reading your interview.  I just got your new book and am looking forward to reading it.  🙂

    Love,

    Joy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

